Home Google Tips and Tricks I Didn’t Mean to Send That Email!

I Didn’t Mean to Send That Email!

by Lori Gracey
Gmail

Have you ever sent an email to the entire school that you only intended to send to a colleague? Or have you sent an important email, but forgot to include the attachment? Don’t worry; Google email has you covered. Gmail users can enable the Undo Send feature and then be able to retract messages for up to 30 seconds after hitting the send button.

To turn on Undo Send:

  1. Click the gear in the top right of your Gmail screen.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Scroll down to Undo Send and click Enable.
  4. Set the cancellation period (the amount of time you have to decide if you want to unsend an email; 30 seconds is the maximum).
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

To give you time to undo, Gmail delays sending the messages for a few seconds. So if you don’t select “Undo” within the time limit you set, your message will be sent.

Want to become more familiar with all things Google? Members can join us the first Thursday of each month for a free power Google webinar. These fast-paced sessions are focused on elevating your skills to enhance productivity and student learning. You can find the list of topics here. Not a TCEA member? You can join for just $45 and continue your professional growth.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

TechNotes Delivered Straight To Your Inbox!

TechNotes Delivered Straight To Your Inbox!

Get the latest TechNotes posts filled with the latest edtech resources and strategies delivered straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!