Home Announcements/Important Dates TCEA Educator Award and Scholarship Winners Announced

TCEA Educator Award and Scholarship Winners Announced

by Joe Vasquez

On February 6, TCEA honored its Educator Award and Scholarship recipients at a ceremony during the 2018 TCEA Convention & Exposition. These incredible educators were chosen based on their efforts to advance teaching and learning through technology.

TCEA Scholarships

The TCEA scholarships are awarded each year to deserving educators and college students seeking to further their knowledge of technology education. With these scholarships, TCEA encourages the acquisition of technology and teaching skills and supports the professional growth of both practicing and pre-service educators. This year’s winners are listed below:

Robert E. Knight Professional Scholarship
Sarah McManus, Henderson ISD, Texas A&M University

Jeri Hodges Leadership Scholarship
Jan Hodge, Crowley ISD
Cori Coburn-Shiflett, Georgetown ISD

TCEA Educator Awards

TCEA recognizes exemplary educators for their tireless efforts to enhance technology throughout their classrooms, libraries, campuses, and districts. Winners of the awards received engraved plaques and $1,000 each from TCEA. The finalists in each category received plaques and $500 each. The High Impact Teacher of the Year recipient will also be nominated for the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Outstanding Teacher award. The finalists, with winners in bold, are listed below:

High Impact Teacher of the Year
Jamie Jo Keeter-Morgan, Wichita Falls ISD
Lynn Koresh, Edgewood Campus School (recipient)
Valerie Satterwhite, Round Rock ISD

Library Media Specialist of the Year
Heather Aston, Coppell ISD
Annie Colvin, Lockhart ISD
Trela Weesner, Lewisville ISD (recipient)

Technical Support Person of the Year
Javier Aguilar, East Fort Worth Montessori Academy
Sherri Forrest, Prestonwood Christian Academy (recipient)
Paul McGuire, Clyde Consolidated ISD

Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year
Elizabeth Benno, Lovejoy ISD (recipient)
Bradford Harris, Aldine ISD
Tisha Poncio, Celina ISD

District or Campus Administrator of the Year
Dr. Kyle Heath, Cleburne ISD (recipient)
Amber Teamann, Wylie ISD

Technology Administrator of the Year
Kyle Ivey, Central ISD (recipient)

School Board of the Year
Cleburne ISD

Making IT Happen Award
Mark Simmons, Sabine Pass ISD (recipient)

Congratulations to this year’s Educator Award and Scholarship winners!

On behalf of TCEA, let me extend my warmest congratulations to this year’s winners and finalists. They represent the very best in education, and their innovative use of technology in their classrooms and schools is genuinely creating learning without limits. We wish them all continued success for the future.


You may also like

You've Made It This Far

Like what you're reading? Sign up to stay connected with us.



*By downloading, you are subscribing to our email list which includes our daily blog straight to your inbox and marketing emails. It can take up to 7 days for you to be added. You can change your preferences at any time. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!